Tuesday, September 29, 2020

When Layton City considered two different railroad overpasses




LAYTON City has one railroad overpass, on the Layton Parkway. A second one is just outside the City's boundaries on Antelope Drive.
However, over the decades the Layton City Council has considered at least two other locations for possible railroad overpasses.
The first time was at the end of 1940. According to the Weekly Reflex newspaper of Dec. 6 that year, "Study to be made at crossing of U.P. Railroad" was the headline.
"The hazard in question is the railway crossing on Gentile Street," the story stated, "one of the heaviest traveled thorofares in Layton, at which point it is hoped either and overpass or an underpass will be constructed."
The possibility was studied, but obviously no overpass was ever built.
At another time in the early 2000s, the Layton City Council briefly discussed building an overpass on 2200 West over the tracks. That was considered the only place in town where it was financially feasible for an overpass. However, the close proximity to the Antelope Drive overpass, less than 1/2 mile away made that seem a waste of resources and no action was taken.







1920: When the opening of the new cement S.L.-Ogden highway was celebrated in Layton


The Layton portion of the first S.L.-Ogden concrete highway in the 1920s,  at 27 S. Main Street
                                                                 -Photo from the Heritage Museum of Layton collection.



"OPENING of Ogden-Salt Lake highway to be celebrated" was a headline in the July 18, 1920 headline in the Salt Lake Herald-Republican newspaper.
On July 22 that year, representatives of the Kiwanis, Rotary and Commercial clubs in northern Utah -- and the Motive Dealers' Association -- gathered in Layton to celebration the completion of the new hard-surfaced highway. The Commercial Club of Nation hosted the celebration of this 40-mile stretch of highway.
This concrete road was a narrow highway, with no middle stripe.
-Sadly, satisfaction for the new highway didn't last but less than three years.
"Wider highway from S.L. to Ogden sought" was a May 8, 1923 headline in the Salt Lake Telegram newspaper.
This story stated a four-mile section between Layton and Clearfield was of particular concern. That stretch of road was already crumbling after three years of use.
"...the road (there) is practically ruined and will have to be reconstructed," the story concluded.


This is a look at the section of road that was north of Layton in about 1920, that needed resurfacing less than three years later, in 1923.        -Photo from the Heritage Museum of Layton collection.






When North Layton Junior High School opened





IT was Tuesday Sept. 2, 1969 when North Layton Junior High School first opened for students.
Some Layton students had previously attended either North Davis Junior or Central Davis Junior High schools. Located at 1100 Antelope Drive, there was little else in this area of town when the school open. There was no nearby retail stores and even the Davis Hospital to the west had not been developed yet.
The only students originally bused to the school were those students from Hill Air Force Base/Hill Gate Terrace trailer court and those from the northeast area of Layton, near Church Street. All others had to walk to school, or be driven by their parents or in car pools.
Even students coming from the Holt and Vae View subdivisions, where the distance was in places more than a mile away, students were not initially bused.
However, there was a sidewalk on the south side of Antelope Drive to Main Street and sidewalks in the nearby Camelot subdivision. At least one crossing guard was stationed on Main Street, to assist students.
John Turner was the school's first  principal. Also, all of the kitchen facilities at the school were not yet ready when the school opened. Thus, cold lunches only were served during the first week of school.




1964: When Layton first enacted winter parking restrictions; A uniform street numbering system in 1962


IT is a well-known ordinance in Layton City that no one can legally park a vehicle on any city street overnight during the months of December, January and February). This law is to aid snow removal by keeping the roads clear for plowing purposes.
But, when did this law first come along?
According to the Ogden Standard-Examiner of Jan. 22, 1964, that year is when the Layton City Council considered such a ban.
"Layton may push city parking ban" was the headline.
At the time, this law in neighboring cities was also believed to produce a reduction in auto burglaries as well.
-It was in 1962 that Layton City adopted a uniform street numbering system, according to the Standard-Examiner of Jan., 10, 1962. Gentile Street was the north-south baseline and a portion of the historic south Main Street was the east-west baseline.






The beginnings of the Davis Hospital/Holy Cross in Layton




THE Holy Cross Hospital Davis, originally known as the Human Hospital Davis North, opened in the fall of 1976. A dedication and open house wee held on Sept. 25 of that year.
Ground was broken on the 22-acre site in late 1974. A silo and several farm buildings had to be demolished to make room for the facility, at 1600 Antelope Drive.
The $8 million hospital, with more than 90,000-square feet of floor space, began as a four story structure, with 100-beds and was expanded over the decades.
Humana Healthcare was the original owner and then Steward Health Care operated the hospital. Today, Common Spirit Health is the owner/operator.

SOURCES: Salt Lake Tribune of Sept. 28, 1974; and the Ogden Standard-Examiner of Sept. 5, 1976.








Layton's first concrete street work was in 1925

                                        Layton City in the 1920s.
LAYTON'S first curb to curb concreting of a street happened in October of 1925, according to the Weekly Reflex newspaper of Oct. 15, 1925.
This took place on Gentile Street by First National Bank of Layton and the Farmer's Union.
"This is the first curb to curb pavement to be laid in Layton and is being paid for the owners of the abutting property," the newspaper stated.
-A portion of Gentile Street, west of Main Street, was graveled in the spring of 1921, according to the Reflex of June 2 that year.

When Layton went after unlicensed canines and restricted open burning too


BEFORE the existence of Davis County Animal Control, back in the spring of 1957, Layton City went aggressively after unlicensed dogs.
"Look out dogs!" was an April 4, 1957 headline in the Weekly Reflex newspaper. 
"A crew of Layton City employees will canvass the community next week to pick up all unlicensed dogs. They will carry with them a list of all dogs that have been licensed. A house-to-house call was made recently for the purpose of selling tags for canines," the Reflex story stated.

-Also, at the same time, the Layton City Council banned the burning of any refuse, waste or combustible material, except on the days of Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday, between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 a.m.
This regulation included any property, street or sidewalk within the City limits. Violation was a misdemeanor.